Last updated on: 3/7/2008 | Author:

Senate Resolution 71 Overview

I. Summary
II. Vote Summary
III. Vote Totals
IV. Related Links

I. Summary

Sen. Lisa Murkowski, Republican from Alaska, introduced Senate Resolution 71 on Mar. 4, 2003 expressing support for the Pledge of Allegiance where it was agreed to with an amendment and with a preamble by a Yea-Nay Vote.

Senate Resolution 71 resolved, “That the Senate–

(1) strongly disapproves of a decision by a panel of the Ninth Circuit in Newdow, and the decision of the full court not to reconsider this case en banc; and

(2) authorizes and instructs the Senate Legal Counsel either to seek to intervene in the case to defend the constitutionality of the words `under God’ in the Pledge , or to file an amicus curiae brief in support of the continuing constitutionality of the words `under God’ in the Pledge.”

See the full text of Senate Resolution 71 (PDF)


II. Vote Summary

S. Res. 71 passed the Senate on Mar. 4, 2003 with:   Ayes Nays Not Voting
  • 94 Ayes
Democrat 44 0 4
  • 0 Nays
Republican 49 0 2
  • 6 Not Voting
Independent 1 0 0


III. Vote Totals

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Senator’s Name State Party Vote
Daniel Akaka HI Democrat Aye
Lamar Alexander TN Republican Aye
Wayne Allard CO Republican Aye
George Allen VA Republican Aye
Max Baucus MT Democrat Aye
Evan Bayh IN Democrat Aye
Robert Bennett UT Republican Aye
Joseph Biden DE Democrat Aye
Jeff Bingaman NM Democrat Aye
‘Kit’ Bond MO Republican Aye
Barbara Boxer CA Democrat Aye
John Breaux LA Democrat Aye
Sam Brownback KS Republican Aye
Jim Bunning KY Republican Aye
Conrad Burns MT Republican Aye
Robert Byrd WV Democrat Aye
Ben Campbell CO Republican Aye
Maria Cantwell WA Democrat Aye
Thomas Carper DE Democrat Aye
Lincoln Chafee RI Republican Aye
C. Saxby Chambliss GA Republican Aye
Hillary Clinton NY Democrat Aye
Thad Cochran MS Republican Aye
Norm Coleman MN Republican Aye
Susan Collins ME Republican Aye
Gaylord Conrad ND Democrat Aye
John Cornyn TX Republican Aye
Jon Corzine NJ Democrat Aye
Larry Craig ID Republican Aye
Michael Crapo ID Republican Aye
Tom Daschle SD Democrat Aye
Mark Dayton MN Democrat Aye
Mike DeWine OH Republican Aye
Christopher Dodd CT Democrat Aye
Elizabeth Dole NC Republican Aye
Pete Domenici NM Republican No Vote
Byron Dorgan ND Democrat Aye
Richard Durbin IL Democrat Aye
John Edwards NC Democrat No Vote
John Ensign NV Republican Aye
Michael Enzi WY Republican Aye
Russell Feingold WI Democrat Aye
Dianne Feinstein CA Democrat Aye
Peter Fitzgerald IL Republican Aye
Bill Frist TN Republican Aye
Bob Graham FL Democrat No Vote
Lindsey Graham SC Republican Aye
Charles Grassley IA Republican Aye
Judd Gregg NH Republican Aye
‘Chuck’ Hagel NE Republican Aye
Senator’s Name State Party Vote
Tom Harkin IA Democrat Aye
Orrin Hatch UT Republican Aye
Ernest Hollings SC Democrat Aye
Kay Hutchison TX Republican Aye
James Inhofe OK Republican Aye
Daniel Inouye HI Democrat Aye
Jim Jeffords VT Independent Aye
Tim Johnson SD Democrat Aye
‘Ted’ Kennedy MA Democrat Aye
John Kerry MA Democrat No Vote
Herb Kohl WI Democrat Aye
Jon Kyl AZ Republican Aye
Mary Landrieu LA Democrat No Vote
Frank Lautenberg NJ Democrat Aye
Patrick Leahy VT Democrat Aye
Carl Levin MI Democrat Aye
Joe Lieberman CT Democrat Aye
Blanche Lincoln AR Democrat Aye
Trent Lott MS Republican Aye
Richard Lugar IN Republican Aye
John McCain AZ Republican Aye
Mitch McConnell KY Republican No Vote
Barbara Mikulski MD Democrat Aye
Zell Miller GA Republican Aye
Lisa Murkowski AK Republican Aye
Patty Murray WA Democrat Aye
Ben Nelson NE Democrat Aye
Bill Nelson FL Democrat Aye
Don Nickles OK Republican Aye
Mark Pryor AR Democrat Aye
John Reed RI Democrat Aye
Harry Reid NV Democrat Aye
Pat Roberts KS Republican Aye
John Rockefeller WV Democrat Aye
Rick Santorum PA Republican Aye
Paul Sarbanes MD Democrat Aye
‘Chuck’ Schumer NY Democrat Aye
Jefferson Sessions AL Republican Aye
Richard Shelby AL Republican Aye
Gordon Smith OR Republican Aye
Olympia Snowe ME Republican Aye
Arlen Specter PA Republican Aye
Debbie Ann Stabenow MI Democrat Aye
Ted Steven AK Republican Aye
John Sununu NH Republican Aye
Jim Talent MO Republican Aye
Criag Thomas WY Republican Aye
George Voinovich OH Republican Aye
John Warner VA Republican Aye
Ron Wyden OR Democrat Aye


IV. Related Links

1. Read the full text of Senate Resolution 71 (PDF) 

2. Research Congressional Actions on the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Pledge of Allegiance History 1887-Today